Shiva Linga: It is the Symbol of Creation; reunion of male and female organ. Mt. Kailash is the natural Shiva Linga

Sat-chit-ananda: The meaning is (permanent+knowing+bliss) eternal peace. The whole universe is consists of Brahma and illusion. Our body is but an illusion and we are entangled with attachment (love). Brahma is the truth otherwise whole things are illusion; like being frighten at seeing rope in the night thinking snake. Knowing and attaining Brahama is Satchitananda.

AUM or OM: It is the combination of A+U+M representing the sound of the universe. It is the most important and cited mantra in Vedic Sanatan Dharma which all the religions utter the same. Hindu (Om) Buddhist (Aum), Christian (Amen), Muslims also have similar sound to OM. The essence is the sound of universe.

Gorakhnath: Awakened form of the God Shiva, The Creator of Universe.

Trinity: Brahma, Vishnu Maheshwor

Emblems of Nepal: Crown, Triangular Flag with the Sun atop, Cow, Rhododendron, Lophophorous, Crimson color, Khukuri.

Unique flag of Nepal: Our flag was made from tantric method having deep spiritual meaning.

Vedas: The four Vedas (Universal knowledge) are the detail explanation of the Vedic Sanatan Dharma (the flow of nature) which is strictly followed by Hindu (the oldest religion) and all the religions of the world. It is the key of the whole human civilization; hub of all the discoveries, essence of whole existence. Vedas are but the science of life and the world.

Veda Vyasa: Born in Damauli-Nepal, he is the author of the four Vedas; (1) Rigveda, (2) Ayurveda, (3) Samveda (4) Atharveda. He is also the compiler of Great Epic Mahabharata, 18 Puransa and Vedanta sutras. He is believed to be the incarnation of supreme Narayana and also considered to be one of the Chiranjivis (immortals). The festival of Guru Purnima is dedicated to him.

Vedic Sanatan Dharma: The universal religion since the time of nature's creation. Here, The law of nature is followed and the Cosmic energy & five elements are worshipped with acute understanding. In simple understanding, it is the universal religion being followed since the origination of nature and Vedas. It is the spiritual tree and other religions including Hindu, Islam, Christian are the branches.

Meaning of Ritual Objects in Vedic Sanatan Dharma (Hinduism, Buddhism & others)

Arrow (awareness), Chakra (absolute completeness), Vajra (indestructible), Bell (wisdom), Damaru (consciousness), Parasol (victory), Kalas (immortality), Khadga (enlightenment), Lingam (creation), Mandala (palace of purity), Lotus (self creation and purity), Pair of fish (rescuer of misery), Prayer wheel (peace), Conch (communication), Shield (protector), Endless knot (mystery of life), Sun (absolute truth), Swastika (wisdom), Tri Ratna (three fold jewels; Buddha, Dharma and Sangha), Trisul (Protection and destruction), Chamar (health)

Religion: A religion is a commonly defined as the social expression of attitudes, beliefs and practices related to the supernatural or the sacred. Religion also functions in many human communities as a means by which the origin of the world around them and such mysteries as life, death and their meanings are explained.

Religious objects: Tident (Trisul), Attic (Buikal), Spire (Gajur), Tempanum (Toran), Conch: sankha (Shells), Totem (worshiping to symbols), Nataraja (The cosmic lord of the dance), Pashupatinath (Lord of the beasts), Vigil (to be awaken whole night for the religious purpose - Jagram basnu

Four Stages of Life: Hinduism divides the life of man into four stages as follows:

The bachelor-student life. The householder life. The life of retirement to forest (the hermitage life) The holy sage, ascetic life. Lenth of Janai: 96 times as the breath of the four fingers of man.

Gorakhnath Calender: It is regarded as the first calendar (patro) of human civilization with accurate calculation of date & time (samaya, thithi, miti, ghadi, pola) etc. It has clearly said about 26 tithi 27 nakshetra and 355 days in a year; whereas the present patro seems incomplete and need amendment with great consideration.

Pashupatinath Temple - The most holy place for all religion

Buddha: "One who perceives the true nature of all life and who leads others to attain the same enlightenment. The Buddha nature is inherent in all beings, and is characterized by the qualities of wisdom, courage, compassion and life force."

Nimbus hallow (Prabhamandal): The bright light in the back side of Buddha's head

Shambhala: The mythical birthplace of Kalki Avatar (the incarnation yet to come) in Tibetan Buddhism.

Full moon day of Baisakh: Full moon of Baishakh is very important for Buddhist because the three great happenings; abandon of Palace, Enlightenment and decease of Buddha was occurred on this day.

Five elements: Fire, air, sky, earth, water (the meaning reflected in five colored prayer flags flickering in Buddhist Stupas and chortens)

Four noble truths: The world is full of suffering, there is cause of suffering, End of desire is salvation, and Nirvana can be achieved by following eight- fold path.

Bodhisattva: In Mahayana Buddhism, one who forgoes Nirvana until all other beings have attained enlightenment

Avalokiteshwara: the Bodhisattva of compassion

Bajra Yogini: Female counterpart of Bhairab

Bhairav: Terrifying tantric form of God Shiva

Chorten: another name of Chaitya in the high mountains

Kora: circumbulation or pilgrimage around temples and stupas

Mandala: Mystic diagram, meditation tool

Nirvana: state of salvation from the cycle of rebirth in Buddhism

Padma Sambhava: 8th century saint, Guru Urgen Rinpoche who carried away Buddhism in Tibet.

Rinpoche: "precious jewel" title given to revered Buddhist lamas.

Stupa: large dome-shaped Buddhist monument, usually said to be contained holy relics

Tantra: esoteric path to enlightenment, a major influence on Nepali Hinduism and Buddhism.

Vipassana: ancient and austere Buddhist meditation practice. Meaning - go inside and explore yourself.

Vajra: It symbolizes the emptiness, un-destructive universal cosmos and unchanging nature of mind which is emptiness.

Culture: It is a way of life; all the activities done from cradle to pyre.

Harati or Ajima: The Legend says, Harati was originally an ogress who used to devour the children of others. After meeting Lord Buddha, she repented for her cannibalistic ways and instead of harming children became their protector and a follower of Lord Buddha. Now she is worshipped as the maternal protector of Children.

Vasundhara: In Buddhism, she is the goddess of wealth and well-being.

Manjushree: The oldest of Bodhisattwas and the creator of Kathmandu valley. Buddhists worship him as the god of Knowledge.

Translate This Page